Sexual Assault Awareness Month Resolution 2021-05

WHEREAS, Sexual Assault Awareness Month calls attention to the fact that sexual violence is widespread and impacts women, men and children of all racial, cultural, and economic backgrounds in our community; and

WHEREAS, rape, sexual assault, and sexual harassment impacts our community, as shown by statistics indicating that one in five women and one in 67 men will be sexually assaulted at some point in their lives; and

WHEREAS, child sexual abuse prevention must be a priority to confront the reality that one in six boys and one in four girls will experience sexual assault before age 18; and

WHEREAS, we must work together to educate our community about sexual violence prevention and holding perpetrators who commit acts of violence responsible for their actions; and

WHEREAS, the Women's Center of East Texas will join other victim service providers, criminal and juvenile justice agencies, health providers, and allied professionals in supporting survivors, speaking out against harmful attitudes and actions, and generating greater public awareness of the issues surrounding sexual assault; and

WHEREAS, Upshur County, Texas strongly supports the efforts of national. state, and local partners, and of every citizen to actively engage in public and private efforts, including conversations about what sexual violence is, how to prevent it, how to help survivors connect with services, and how every segment of our society can work together to better address sexual violence.

NOW THEREFORE, joining with anti-sexual violence advocates and support service programs, in our state and across the nation, in the belief that all community members must be part of the solution to end sexual violence, the UPSHUR COUNTY COMMISSIONER'S COURT does hereby proclaim that the month of April 2021 be observed as SEXUAL ASSAULT AWARENESS MONTH in Upshur County, Texas.

APPROVED this the 31st day of MARCH 2021 by the Upshur County Commissioner's Court.

TODD TEFTELLER, Upshur County Judge

GENE DOLLE, Commissioner, Pct. 1

DUSTIN NICHOLSON, Corhmissioner, Pct. 2

MIKE ASHLEY, Commissioner, Pct. 3

JAY W. MILLER, Commissioner, Pct. 4

